Cruising through the Desert

I visited Sequoia National Park during mid August, flew to phoenix and drove all the way to the SNP (Mr Husband was visiting from Austria and wanted to drive in the US, and since I love to drive, I didn’t complain).

car

The Giant Sequoia against a car

forest

Met the largest tree on earth General Sherman.

gsherman

Instead of taking the faster freeway, decided to take the historic Route 66 while driving back from Sequoia to Phoenix. Best decision ever!

route66

The road was deserted, stopped at random places and clicked pictures like crazy. After a while noticed a lot of black rocks on the side of the road. According to Google, it was lava which spewed out of an ancient (now extinct) volcano. Since I love volcanoes, decided to make a detour and visit the Amboy Crater. I really wanted to go all the way up to the crater, but it was quite a walk and it was extremely hot outside (read 116F).

volcano

A rock with the extinct volcano in the background

Stopped at the historic route 66 road sign and clicked some pictures. The landscape was amazing. Never expected desert to look so beautiful.

desert

With beautiful sunsets..

sunset

Ever since I landed in Phoenix, I had been looking for Saguaro (the huge cactus species that shows up when you google Arizona). To my utter disappointment, I couldn’t find a single one, in-spite of searching for 4 days (no, I don’t have vision issues). Finally, it was time to check out of the hotel and catch the flight back to buffalo (I’m extremely sad at this point and my husband is trying to comfort me by telling that we would come back to Arizona, just to view the cacti (yeah, I can be extremely childish sometimes)). And all of a sudden, like magic, there was a huge cactus right in front of me! Since we had checked into the hotel in the middle of the night we hadn’t noticed it.

You can see how happy I am in this photograph taken with the cactus. 😀

On second thoughts I decided not to put up the picture of me ridiculously grinning over a cactus. Instead, here is a cat :

cat2

I got this cute little cactus from Phoenix (the green creepy lizard-sort-of-a-thing is not real though).

collage1

While I was typing this, Mr Bear got interested in Asimov. I had to literally snatch the book from him… Literate bears are a nightmare! 🙂 Btw, I found him in Sequoia National Park.

P.S. he is not real! 🙂

IMG_2015-10-08 14:14:54

 

Leave a Reply

