Papercraft!!

This sunday I suddenly felt like doing something with paper and paint… Few weeks back, MISTER MAKER, which airs on ceebeebies showed how to make a tribal headdress using paper and feathers.. I thought of making the same thing, with paper feathers..

First I took some thin(which I found out later to be a wrong choice), white paper… I drew basic feather shapes in different sizes. Then I painted them in different colors, I even used some metallic colors!

Later I cut each feather out and made slits on the edges to give it a feathery feel..


Then I cut a long strip of thick paper(this will be the headband)..I started sticking the feathers onto it ensuring the smaller ones are stck first and later the longer ones.By doing so, we can make sure that all the feathers are visible..
Make sure to arrange the feathers in a way that the same colored ones are not together..

Then this was left to dry for sometime.. Meanwhile, I took the measurement of my cousin’s head.Once the headband was completely dry, I stapled it in round shape so that it fits my cousin’s head…

My little cousin all happy with his new headdress 🙂

Since I was feeling so craft, I decided to make something else as well..Christmas tree seemed like a good idea!!

I took thick paper and cut a semicircle out of it.. I rolled the cut paper and glued the ends to form a cone.. Next I painted it green to match my leaves (you can use green thick paper tomake the cone if you don’t want to paint it!)

Next I took a ticker paper and cut out 2 smaller circles(this should be smaller than the base of the cone) I then cut a rectangular shape, rolled it and glued the ends to make a cylinder (this will be our stem) Next, glue the ends of the cylinder onto the circles,paint it brown to resemble a stem…We will mount the tree onto this once it is completed…This will ensure the tree stands properly.

 

Coming back to the cone.. CUt long strips of paper, of 2-4 inches,and paint them green (you can use green paper if you dont wanna paint).. Now cut thin stripes on the strip, make sure to leave a little space on top..

Start glueing the strips onto the cone, start from the bottom, going in rounds..Once the first round completes, arrange and glue the next round so as to overlap the previous round..Continue till the top of the cone.

Take a small strip of the paper(which has already been cut into stripes) and roll it into a cone and stick it on the top of the cone..your christmas tree is ready!!!


You can then decorate your tree by adding a star on top, or running a colored thread or shiny thread around it!!!

 

Leave a Reply

